Published on : Sep 21, 2018
Instagram has apparently taken the risk of adding a ‘share to feed’ option for every post that appears in its feed. Using this feature, users will be able to reshare posts from other people’s account to their own feed. While is feared to disturb the true nature of the social media app, it may bring a new life to the main feed. However, the new feature may open the door for the possibility of negative consequences such as influence campaigns and fake news that Facebook has been battling with since the 2016 U.S. presidential election.
Known as ‘seamless sharing,’ the reshare option will appear in the ‘…’ menu of every post in the user’s Instagram feed.
Instagram might Limit Ability to Reshare Posts to Businesses
Reshared posts in Instagram could appear below the picture and handle of the user who shared them. Currently, Instagram posts can be shared only twice. In this case, the trail of the two users who shared it previously could be seen in a stack just above the post. Since the social media platform has a history of launching new features first to business accounts, it could be possible that the reshare option will be available for businesses at present.
Resharing is still in its early phase of development. It may be killed even before a full launch. The so-called ‘regramming’ is an ongoing debate, and Mike Krieger and Kevin Systrom, Instagram co-founders, have repeatedly resisted it. If a broad roll out of the new feature takes place, it could make dozens of free apps on iOS App Store that allow reposting using Instagram links disappear.